Tuesday, June 01, 2021

'The Astronauts', 'Kid of the Year', 'KCA 2020' and 'All That' Receive Nominations in Broadcast Portion of 48th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) has announced that Nickelodeon has received 5 nominations in the broadcast portion of the 48th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards.

Nickelodeon's The Astronauts.

Nickelodeon's and TIME’s Kid of the Year special, which premiered in December 2020, has been nominated in the "Outstanding Daytime Non-Fiction Special" category of the 2021 Daytime Emmy Awards.

Meanwhile, in the "Outstanding Daytime Promotional Announcement", Nickelodeon has received three nominations, for the network's launch promos for new series The Astronauts, Kid of the Year 2020, and the 2020 Kids' Choice Awards.

Finally, All That has received an nomination in the "Outstanding Makeup" category of this year's awards.

The Daytime Emmy® Awards recognize outstanding achievement in daytime television programming. The awards are presented to individuals and programs broadcast between 2:00 am and 6:00 pm in the U.S., as well as certain categories of digital and syndicated programming of similar content. This year's awards will honor content from more than 3,000 submissions that originally premiered in calendar-year 2020.

The submissions were judged by a pool of more than 1,000 peer professionals from across the television industry whose confidential ballots were then tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP.

The winners of Daytime Emmy Awards 2021 will be announced on Friday, June 25 (8:00-10:00PM, ET/PT) on the CBS Television Network and streamed on Paramount+.

Nominees for both the Daytime Children’s Programming & Animation Emmy Awards and the Daytime Lifestyle Programming Emmy Awards will be announced on Monday, June 28. The Daytime Children’s Programming and Animation Emmy Awards will be presented in a stand-alone show streaming on NATAS’ Emmy OTT platform on Saturday, July 17, 2021 at 8 p.m. ET. The Daytime Lifestyle Programming Emmy Awards will be presented on that same Emmy OTT platform on Sunday, July 18, 2021 at 8 p.m. ET.

The Daytime Emmy® Awards have recognized outstanding achievement in daytime television programming since 1974.

The June 25th telecast will mark the 15th time CBS has broadcast the Daytime Emmys®, more than any other network. The telecast will be produced by the National Academy and Associated Television International (ATI), which previously produced Daytime Emmy® ceremonies on The CW in 2009 and on CBS in 2010, 2011, and 2020.  David McKenzie will produce and direct for ATI and Adam Sharp and Steve Ulrich of NATAS will be Executive Producers of the show.

A full list of all nominees in all categories can be viewed at https://theemmys.tv/daytime-48th-nominations-cbs/.

Congratulations and good luck to Nickelodeon and to everyone involved in each production!

Official TIME press release:

TIME Studios Earns Daytime Emmy Nomination for 2020 TIME Kid of the Year Special on Nickelodeon

TIME Editor-in-Chief and CEO Edward Felsenthal sent the following note to staff Friday.

Dear all,

I’m happy to let you know that TIME Studios, in partnership with Trevor Noah’s Day Zero Productions and Mainstay Entertainment, has been nominated for a Daytime Emmy Award for 2020’s TIME Kid of the Year special on Nickelodeon in the category of Outstanding Daytime Non-Fiction Special. The special also received a second nomination in the category of Outstanding Daytime Promotional Announcement.

This marks TIME’s first-ever Daytime Emmy nomination, and the seventh nomination for TIME in the last five years. This is a testament to our ongoing transformation, and to the growth of TIME Studios through the phenomenal work of the Studios team supported by so many people throughout our organization.

Special congratulations to Ian Orefice, Rebecca Gitlitz, Mike Beck, Jeff Smith, Andrea Delbanco, Alexa Conway, Javon Stephenson and Emma Barker who led TIME’s work on the project. And of course to our partners Trevor Noah and Haroon Saleem (Day Zero Productions), Norm Aladjem, Derek Van Pelt and Sanaz Yamin (Mainstay Entertainment) and Stacey Carr, Paul Medford and Rob Bagshaw (Nickelodeon).

The TIME Kid of the Year franchise is a powerful reminder of the impact our brand has around the world, and our ability to make a positive difference. As Trevor Noah said when the project first kicked off, “Today’s kids want to actively make the world a better place and we should do everything we can to help. That’s the goal of this show. So, let’s take those first steps on the path to positive change together and shine a light on the good.”

A cutdown of the nominated special can be viewed on Nickelodeon’s YouTube page.

TIME’s reporting and the video for Kid of the Year can be viewed here.

Congratulations again to everyone involved on this project and on its well-deserved Emmy recognition.




Originally published: Tuesday, May 25, 2021.

Original source: Variety.

Follow NickALive! on Twitter, Tumblr, Reddit, via RSS, on Instagram, and/or Facebook for the latest Nickelodeon News and Highlights!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Have your say by leaving a comment below! NickALive! welcomes friendly and respectful comments. Please familiarize with the blog's Comment Policy before commenting. All new comments are moderated and won't appear straight away.