Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Hugh Baldwin, The Director Of Nickelodeon Australia, Named First-Round Judge For The 2013 Kidscreen Awards

From Kidscreen:
First-round judges announced for 2013 Kidscreen Awards

As preparations for the 2013 Kidscreen Awards ramp up, the awards team has announced the first-round judges for the programming categories.

After reviewing and scoring all entries in the categories (Best Animated Series; Best Non-Animated or Mixed Series; Best One-Off, Special or TV Move; and Best Companion Website), the first-round judges whittle down a shortlist of programs and websites that move on to a second and final round of judging, administered by three new jury panels.

The first-round judges are:

Preschool (ages zero to five)
Carla de Jong – executive in charge of production, Children’s and Youth Programming, CBC
Henrietta Hurford-Jones – director of CBeebies Investment, BBC Worldwide
Deborah Macdonald – independent children’s media consultant
Chris Rose – commissioning editor, animation, ABC Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Kids (ages six to 11)
Hugh Baldwin – director, Nickelodeon Australia
Alan Gregg – director of original content, TELETOON Canada
Layla Lewis – director of programming and acquisitions, Turner Broadcasting Asia Pacific
Tara Sorensen – head of Children’s Series Development, Amazon Studios

Tweens/Teens (ages 12 to 17)
Jan-Willem Bult – creative head, KRO Youth
David Kleeman – president, American Center for Children and Media
Tracia Ord – senior manager, Disney XD Worldwide

The entry deadline for the programming categories is Friday, September 14 and the deadline for the broadcasting categories (Channel of the Year, Best Channel Design, Best Channel Website, Best Interstitial Campaign, Best Integrated Promotion, Best On-Air Host or Hosting Team) is Friday, October 19.

The 2013 Kidscreen Awards winners in all categories will be announced at an evening presentation as part of next year’s Kidscreen Summit set to take place in New York between February 5 and 8.

Additional information on eligibility, judging and how to enter can be found at awards.kidscreen.com.

Tags: Carla de Jong, David Kleeman, Kidscreen Awards, Tara Sorensen